Facebook - Manage the privacy of its publications

Page 1 / 1

For some time now, Facebook adjusts privacy of each publication. You can choose the target audience for each new publication, for every old and even limit the publication of all publications in one click.

  1. Limiting the audience of older publications
  2. Edit the confidentiality of older publications
  3. Change the default privacy of new publications

1. Limiting the audience of older publications

To set the privacy of your old publications, click on the little gear in the upper right and then "Privacy".

Then click "Limit the audience for past publications" then click the button "Limit older publications".

Facebook will warn you that this change can not be canceled with one click. Click "Confirm".

If you want to be sure that a publication is no longer visible at all, the safest way is still to delete directly. So if Facebook is an update in terms of confidentiality, your publication is not likely to become public by accident.

2. Edit the confidentiality of older publications

To change the privacy of an old publication, click the icon to the right of the date and select what suits you.

Note : If you want this publication is no longer visible by yourself (only me), then we advise you to permanently delete the publication concerned. This will prevent you end up with a publication that would become public after an update from Facebook.

3. Change the default privacy of new publications

To set the default privacy of your new publications, click on the little gear in the upper right and then "Privacy".
Then click on "Who can see your future publications ?" the right side and then displayed on the small drop-down list to select the target audience: Public, friends, only me ...

Note : We noticed that this feature was apparently default "Public", which is rather contradictory for a privacy function. We recommend you set it to "Friends" to prevent anyone falling on a compromising publication.